Table of Contents
- 1 When children are present what is the prima facie speed limit in a school zone unless posted otherwise?
- 2 When entering the lane of an oncoming vehicle in order to pass you will at least feet to pass safely?
- 3 What are the 4 basic speed laws?
- 4 How fast can you drive in a school zone?
- 5 Can be so distracting because drivers need to look away from the road and use their hands?
- 6 What is a good tip for driving in wet weather?
- 7 What is the speed limit in a school zone?
- 8 What is the speed limit for school warning signs?
When children are present what is the prima facie speed limit in a school zone unless posted otherwise?
When driving within 500 to 1,000 feet of a school while children are outside or crossing the street, the speed limit is 25 mph, unless otherwise posted. Some school zones may have speed limits as low as 15 mph.
When entering the lane of an oncoming vehicle in order to pass you will at least feet to pass safely?
When entering the lane of an oncoming vehicle in order to pass, you will need at least how many feet to pass safely? 1600 ft. If a vehicle is approaching you head on when you are in the proper lane: Pull over to the right.
When driving slower than the rest of the traffic in which lane should you be driving quizlet?
When driving slower than the normal speed of other vehicles, you should drive in the right-hand lane, or as close as possible to the right curb. While waiting for the opportunity to pass the vehicle ahead, you should approach and follow the vehicle as closely as possible.
At what speed should you drive in a one way alley?
The speed limit in any alley is 15 mph.
What are the 4 basic speed laws?
In California, there are four major Speed Laws: Basic, Prima Facie, Maximum, and Minimum. As a state with approximately 40 million residents, each speed law mandates different requirements for drivers. The overarching goal is to protect the safety of everyone on or near the road.
How fast can you drive in a school zone?
A typical school zone speed limit in most US states is between 15 mph and 25 mph (25 and 40 km/h) unless otherwise posted.
What are the rules for merging traffic?
According to the California Driver Handbook, drivers must enter the freeway at or near the speed of traffic and should not stop before merging into traffic unless it is absolutely necessary. Drivers are also discouraged from trying to merge into small gaps to avoid following too closely.
When you merge leave a gap of at least?
Any time you merge with other traffic, you need a gap of four seconds. That will give both you and the car you merge in front of a two-second following distance. If you stop to wait until all lanes are clear, you will tie up traffic and may cause an accident.
Can be so distracting because drivers need to look away from the road and use their hands?
Activities that cause you to take your hands off the wheel are known as manual distractions. Activities that cause you to take your mind off of driving are known as cognitive distractions.
What is a good tip for driving in wet weather?
Overall you want to be extra cautious in wet weather. Slow down, avoid hard braking or turning sharply and allow ample stopping distance between you and the cars in front of you. Also, do these things one at a time. Brake, then turn, then accelerate.
Do I have to wait for the pedestrian to completely cross?
In California, the law does not state that a driver must wait for the pedestrian to fully exit the crosswalk or the street before they proceed on their way in their lane. A pedestrian must be safely out of the driver’s path of travel for them to begin driving again.
Is it illegal to go to slow?
Traffic violations related to blocking or impeding traffic by not pulling over or driving fast enough. Although it’s far more common to be ticketed for speeding, it’s also possible to get a citation for driving too slowly. Generally, it’s illegal to drive so slowly that you blook or impede the normal flow of traffic.
What is the speed limit in a school zone?
(A) A maximum of two traffic lanes. (B) A maximum posted 30 miles per hour prima facie speed limit immediately prior to and after the school zone. (3) The prima facie limits established under paragraph (1) apply to all lanes of an affected highway, in both directions of travel.
What is the speed limit for school warning signs?
(C) For purposes of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1), school warning signs indicating a speed limit of 25 miles per hour may be placed at any distance between 500 and 1,000 feet away from the school grounds. (D) A local authority shall reimburse the Department of Transportation for all costs incurred by the department under this subdivision.
Why are there school zones in the street?
School zones are put in place to ensure the safety of children in and around schools. While class is in session, drivers are responsible for maintaining safety and awareness on the streets surrounding schools. All children should be able to walk or bike to and from class without fear of being hit by passing vehicles.
When does a prima facie speed limit apply?
(2) The prima facie limits established under paragraph (1) apply only to highways that meet all of the following conditions: (A) A maximum of two traffic lanes. (B) A maximum posted 30 miles per hour prima facie speed limit immediately prior to and after the school zone.